Sports 2000 Enduro – Round 1 – Brands Hatch – Mike Turner

Mike Turner reports on the first round of the BIGprofile Sports 2000 Mini Enduro Series.
Brands Hatch Indy circuit was the venue for the first Enduro Sports 2000 race of 2014. A healthy grid of cars set out for qualifying on a damp but drying track. Some teams opted for full wet tyres, others for slicks. Slicks seemed to be the way to go as the track dried quickly in the last minutes of the session. The track conditions resulted in a very mixed up grid. Excellent performances coming from Michael Gibbins(Lola) and the Powell/Hooker Tiga. Both these pinto cars proving very quick in the tricky conditions. Tom Stoten took a fine pole position in his Gunn TS8B with Patrick Sherrington (MCR) having problems and qualifying further down the grid than normal.

Despite the poor forecast the cars took the rolling start on a dry circuit. Tom Stoten making the most of pole to take the lead. A good battle behind featuring the Turner/Owen MCR ,Scott Guthrie(Van Diemen)and Paul Streat (MCR) kept things interesting. The pinto cars of Powell/Hooker, Gibbins and Colin Feyerabend battled hard for the honours in the class.
As normal the compulsory pit stops mixed things up all through the order with good battles raging throughout. Patrick Sherrington driving an excellent race fought his way through the field gradually gaining on Tom Stoten. Meanwhile Paul Streat was secure in third place followed by the Turner/Owen MCR, Roger Donnen (MCR) ,Scott Guthrie and Clive Hayes(MCR).
Tom Stoten took the flag after a fine drive only to have the win taken away due to an infringement. This resulted in Patrick Sherrington leading home an MCR one two three with Paul Streat second and the Turner/Owen duo third. The pinto class was led home by Powell/Hooker Tiga followed by Michael Gibbins ,Colin Feyerbend and Clive Steeper after a fine race.
The enduro format again proved what good racing it provides with the whole team being involved from start to finish.
The next champiohip race is Oulton Park on 28th June.

2014 27 April - Round 1 - Silverstone GP - Patrick Sherrington<< >>2014 3rd Aug - Round 5 - Pembrey